Blog · Blogging · Breast Feeding · Children · Crazy · Family · Mommy · Mommy Blogger · Parenting · Planning · Play Time · Playtime · Preemie · Pregnant · Sanity · Social Media · Support

Fed Is Best

I have always tried to stay away from controversial topics such as Breast Feeding vs. Formula feedings. So this post is 100% completely my opinion and my experience. If you want to exclusively breast feed, good for you! Rock it out! I will be the mom giving you a smile and thumbs up in the restaurant or museum. If you are strictly formula, rock that out mama! You are doing what you need to for you baby, and thats being the very best mama you can be, you will also get a smile and thumbs up from me! 

My son was 16 weeks early, my milk had most definantly not dropped and I had to work so very hard to get it in and saved every drop for my son. He was on donor brest milk for 4 days before I made enough to feed him. I pumped like clockwork, every 3 hours, tracked every ounce, my spot in our fridge was full before we went to the hospital daily. For 3 months I did this and I was excited soon I would try to breast feed! 

Then my supply started to drop out of no where, and I drank the teas, ate the cookies, had more people touch my boobs in a day than I would like to admit. I even took the medicines, but it just dropped off, I was crushed I went from getting a full 50ML to 75ML per boob, per pump to maybe 20ML from both in a matter of 2 weeks. I was heart broken, but no one shamed me for it, they told me I did great, gave my little preemie the best fighting chance he needed by giving him what I did for 3 months. And, I had enough in the freezer to last a while longer, I felt ok when it came to take the feeding tube out and try actual feedings it was a bottle and not the breast, and by the time he was home he was on straight formula. He stayed on formula until he was 12 months adjusted and was never a fussy eater. 

Fast forward 2 years and I am in the hospital bed, snuggled up with my new born daughter trying to get her to latch, and I had to come up with some fun ways of that happening…. Sqeezing my boob, then the nipple, pushing it one way while she lay another way… 

The 2 person technique, that one was strange with a nurse, and frustrating when trying to tell Hubby what to do…  

Finally after 3 days of her getting next to nothing, I pumped next to nothing, less than 20 ML from both breasts, I asked the nurse to get me a small thing of formula, because she was hungry and I wanted to feed her so I could get more than an hour of sleep. She made me feel so bad! 

“You have barely tried! You need to give it more time!” I am sorrybits been 3 days, I feed her for an hour to an hour and a half from each breast and she is starving less than 30 minutes later, I pumped and bottle fed her in the longer gaps and she still wasn’t getting enough. My child was hungry and I was gonna feed her!

I had to sign an “Against Medical Advice” form to get formula for my child… What the actual F!? It made me feel like I was going to be harming my child because I wanted her to feel full for a little bit! I was still pumping, still trying her on the boob, but if I knew she was still hungry I wanted to top her up! Why is to terrible to want to keep your child full and happy? 

Once we got, home I still tried to breast feed, pump and formula, I again did the tea, cookies and pills, but it never surpassed 30 ML from both breasts. So after a long talk with my husband, and him telling me I needed to be there for our kids and me making myself sick over this, isn’t healthy for anyone involved. At my 6 week check up, my old school OB told me the exact same thing, he gave me a coupon for some formula to pick up on my way home, gave me a hug and told me I was doing great! I was feeling so much better about this. 

As I sat in his waiting room for his nurse to bring out a form for some blood work and a prescription, my daughter started getting fussy so I pulled the bottle out and quickly made one and started feeding her, another mom, who was there with her whole entourage, looked over at me scoffed and rolled her eyes. I just smiled at her and went back about my business of feeding my daughter, and she said to her friend/cousin/sister, making no attempt to lower her voice, said “Breast is best, and anyone who does other than that is lazy and doing a disservice to their child.” 

I just hung my head and talked low to my daughter, telling her I loved her and I tried very hard to do the best I could. There were several other moms and families in the waiting room but no one came to my aid, no one would say anything. Here I am 6 weeks post partom, high risk for depression, already feeling terrible about being able to breast feed, and this woman has the nerve to speak out of turn.

I was sad before, when it actually happened, then I became angry about it, now I just feel bad for her. 

Breast is optimal, but Fed is the best for your baby. 

Thank You for reading, please Like, Comment, and follow me on social media.

Love, Hearts, and Pretty Things

Ashton ❤

5 thoughts on “Fed Is Best

  1. Ouch. People need to think before they speak. In fact, lots of people shouldn’t speak at all (because they are incapable of thinking). My sister also had to give up breastfeeding when it didn’t work, which has given me an appreciation for the fact that it just doesn’t work sometimes. I’m thrilled that I was able to breastfeed, and I’m proud of myself for sticking with it when it was tough. But I would also never judge a Mom who isn’t breastfeeding because I’m not in her shoes.
    Also, people just need to butt out of other people’s business.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so happy you got to breast feed and made it work.
      And its true some times it just doesn’t work, people don’t know everyones story. Unless you go up and politely ask a question…. I wouldn’t have minded as much…… Wait never mind there is no polite way to ask this… So people do need to butt outlol.
      Thanks for reading

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You deserve a standing ovation for this entry. I wish I could have been there to support you…I was damn lucky in that I could exclusively pump for my daughter (12 weeks early, never figured out the whole bf thing), but you are so right that FED IS BEST. Today’s formulas are so much better than they ever have been, and as long as your kid is happy, that is all that matters. I cannot believe that no one stood up for you. But I’m happy that you are giving voice to your thoughts here so that maybe one of your readers will stand up for someone else. Hugs and you are doing great, mama.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. How horribly rude of that woman in the doctor’s office! It seems like no matter what, moms can’t win, and it’s a shame 😦 I’m so sorry that happened to you, but good for you for taking the high road. We can be our own harshest judges, but it sounds like you’ve silenced your inner critic! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

