Blog · Blogging · Children · Couponing · Crazy · Family · Mommy · Mommy Blogger · Parenting · Planning · Play Time · Playtime · Product · Review · Sanity · Savings · Social Media · Support

Couponing With A Beginner Pt. One

So this year I am going to be couponing, and I got myself organized before January 1, 2017, and it was a lot harder than I thought it was going to be…

I use to watch extreme couponing and thought that it was pure magic the way the balanced the coupons with what they needed to support their families or even feed a whole 250 church congregation. But that is the US of A, and up here in the great white north they have a totally different set of rules and regulations. Like none of our grocery stores double up the savings, and 90% of the coupons you get are limited one per transaction and 4 per family. So even if you choose to have multiple transactions to get the optimal amount of savings they will still cap you at 4.

I am not going to lie though, I think I went overboard on what I printed online… and there is a high chance that I will more than likely not use all these before they expire, so mistake number one for me. I have a lap top and printer hooked up and printed 175 coupons in 2 days. I have them in a small accordion folder divided up into categories:

  • Household
  • First Aid
  • Beauty
  • Groceries
  • Pets
  • Baby
  • Cleaning

    You can use as many categories as you feel you need though, there are other ways to organize, I have seen people use the binder system, but upon research that is only for the hardcore couponing mamas who sit and do this for 6 to 8 hours PER DAY! I am a mom of 2 young kids, with a husband who works out of town 14 to 21 days at a time; I do not have that kind of time to do that. I am giving myself 1 to 2 hours at least 2 to 3 days a week, after the minions have hunkered down for the night, and before I pass out from the day’s activities.

    I have downloaded the Flipp app that shows all the flyers for stores near you, and sometimes lets you know which ones have coupons in them. I also went to save.ca, coupons.com, healthyessentials.com, gocoupons.ca and brandsaver.com, you can also sign up for P&G, Kraft and Clorox and they will give you access to more coupons not shown on every site.

    At Superstore, No Frills, and all those Presidents Choice affiliates will have a wall of tear away coupons, they will be your friend, but make sure they aren’t already ones that you found online. The longest I have seen a coupon life for is 30 days, but I could be wrong. Like I had explained before, this is not really a how to coupon, this is watch what I do and see if works, if it does….  This is how I did it.

     

    I am making my grocery list based on what I need still and not based on what I have coupons for; I will adjust accordingly if needed. I will also buy no name brand if I need to, because sometimes they will be cheaper even with the coupon savings. I am looking into a lot of different bloggers who have attempted this like Ms. January, and Simply Stacy, they have many links to different sites that have coupons and other ideas on how to make this work. This is all still the warm up faze for me, as I haven’t even gone to do a full shop yet, and you will be taken through that process, no matter how painful it will be for me. I have also set a realistic goal for my savings every shop, I want to cut at least $100.00 off our monthly total, and once I get the hang of that I will up my goal, but for now $100.00 seems obtainable.

    Well, nap time for the kids is almost over, and I need to clean up this mess and hide my lap top before my son sees it…. I will keep you updated on my progress.

    Thank You for reading, please Like, Comment, and follow me on social media.

    Love, Hearts, and Pretty Things

    Ashton ❤

    2 thoughts on “Couponing With A Beginner Pt. One

    1. I love couponing! It is what has kept me sane these last few years when we’ve had financial struggles. It is also the reason we are able to save money towards paying off bills! I particularly love couponing at drug stores, i.e. Rite Aid, Walgreens, CVS. My favorite, by far is Rite Aid. It is THE place I get laundry detergent, soaps, shampoos and conditioner, lotion, other toiletries, oral hygiene, paper products! I have saved so much over the years. I “roll” my points, which allows me to reduce my out of pocket expenses in the long run. Good luck! It looks like you are off to a good start! =)

      Like

    Leave a Reply

