Blog · Blogging · Children · Crazy · Family · Holidays · Mommy · Mommy Blogger · Parenting · Planning · Play Time · Playtime · Sanity · Savings · Social Media · Support · Work

On The Right Track

Its amazing what you can accomplish with a lot of caffeine, husband willing to preoccupy the kids, a label maker, a Walmart storage sale and determination….

We live in such a small place, that it gets messy to quickly, and looks cluttered all the time! We have 2 adults, a toddler and an baby in a 720 sq. ft apartment, oh and the kitty cat! So, as I stated before,  My Pre-New Years goal is to go into the new year with a clean and well organized, de-cluttered house! Well, since the madness of the holidays has passed in our world, I have started getting that ball going. I cashed in a few gift cards I got from family for Christmas, and did some Boxing Day shopping for storage containers to help my cause.

I have after shots only of my bathroom because my husband… Well he didn’t want pictures of his underwear all over the internet!

7

We have an influx of Toilet paper because I always buy when its on sale if we need it or not!

I8

Then we have all our needs in separate totes that I got for $1.50 each at Wal-Mart… I should have gotten more to organize my sons room a bit better… you will see that later.

9

Now we have extra baby wipes ( which I am running low on and need to add to my grocery list. I have my Kleenex and Clorox, beside my makeup! Pushed out of reach of my sons grabby fingers, all the sheets for our bed, and the kids beds… Don’t mind my dirt laundry at the bottom… (oops)

10

And Now we have a clean functional counter top that isn’t full and messy… Yes I know I still need to wipe things down.

 

Now, that was what I did yesterday, TODAY, I cleaned my sons room… now before you jump on me… he is only 2 and his room became a dumping ground for the toys that both kids and a few other things, that really didn’t need to be in his room…. so here is his room before.

 

1

Unmade bed… with random toys and blankets, books and toys piled.

2

Diaper boxes closet over filled with more toys, activity table with no home…. doll house with no real purpose in a boys room (It was mine when I was little my grandpa built it for me.)

3

Dog bed in the middle of the floor, ( We dont even have a dog… or ever had a dog.) Books and clothes, Sisters snow suit… for some reason….

 

Now the After (after 2 and half hours, and locking my son out of his room after 10 minutes of him “helping”)

4

A tote box for Spuds Diapers, and a tote box for Tally’s Diapers, both full and overflow stacked inbetween. Extra baby blankets and a small comforter for Spud. Pink toy box for Tally’s toys, Dog bed on top of the doll house out of the way.

5

ATV parked, toys put in 4 boxes in the closet and his little man reading chair put in there as well.

6

Big red Reading chair cleaned off and stacked with all his new Star Wars toys, The foot stool turned into a end table for his night light/flashlight. Bed is made and only a few Stuffies were left on bed, for bed time….

 

So in 2 days I have cleaned 2 rooms… I have the kitchen, living room and our room left over to get done… There are 3 days left and 3 rooms left to do… when really I can do the kitchen and living room in one day…. We will see.

 

Look forward to sharing more of my progress before the new year.

TTYL

Ashton

4 thoughts on “On The Right Track

  1. I love cleaning and organization posts (my husband thinks it’s weird lol). I’ve been on this cleaning kick lately where I want to purge my whole house because we have SO much junk we never use and I am sick of the clutter. I started on my kitchen and I think I might do a “purge” blog series about it.

    Like

    1. We just live in such a small place that this Christmas we doubled our stuff quota! My in laws are taking my son for new years so I can sneak away toys he hasn’t played with in such a long time. And ones I can hide away for his siter when she is old enough to play with.
      I hope to read your purge series. Good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had made my daughter help me go through her old toys and donate them before Christmas, and it still seems we have too much! If I can ever finish my kitchen I am going to post up that blog lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

