Blog · Blogging · Children · Family · NICU · Parenting · Preemie · Support

Prematurity Is….

Sun Tanning

Prematurity is not a Burden. I have been doing son digging trying to help get a Support group going here in Edmonton for families of premature infants. We don’t fit in to regular mom groups and there is nothing on them out here at all…. I digress.

I came across this GIANT file about prematurity statistic in 2012 for Canada and when it came to the part of the cost… The way they worded just got under my skin…

THE TOTAL ECONOMIC BURDEN OF PREMATURITY IN CANADA IS ESTIMATED TO BE A TOTAL OF $587.1 MILLION.

That bothers me, like my son was a burden to Canada because he was born early. No I am sorry that’s not how that should be worded for a matter of public record.

Sorry this is short but I needed to point out that prematurity is not a burden, it something that cannot be controlled. You may have your groupings where there is a higher risk factors, but sometimes….. Shit happens, and that doesn’t make it a burden.

Leave a Reply

