Parenting

Ed Sheeran

image

When I first had my son I turned to music as my comfort and my release from the everyday stresses of being NICU family. And the song that I had on repeat most nights was “Small Bump” by Ed Sheeran. It is a song about a miscarriage but if you pull it apart enough you can turn it to work for a preemie mama. Let me explain…

The song starts out with all the optimism about this new life coming into the world and then things change for the worst but it doesn’t have to mean for you the worst. I saw it as a song that was good and happy like pregnancies start and then is changes to sad and things do go as expected. Which is very true in the case for NICU moms….

I went to the Ed Sheeran concert tonight with my best friend of 21 years and it was honestly the best show i had seen in a while. And I have seen more than my share of shows in the past 10 years.

image

Eds set was 2 hours and by the end he had fire alarms going off and fire trucks showing up. It was eventful and worth every penny and every minute there. He stands alone on stage just him his guitar and a loop pedal and makes the crowd cheer yell and dance along for the whole time. It was a great time.

image

His parting words to the crowd was to keep singing and I plan on it, as well as showing my son how.

Awesome show!!! Gonna be tired at work tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

