Children · Day Home · Daycare · Family · NICU · Parenting · Preemie · Sick · Support · Work · Working Mom

DAYCARE DILEMMA

When your baby is born 4 months early like mine, means he may be 11 months old actually but developmentally he is only 7 months old. Even then some preemies are more behind than that, it all depends on the type of issues and complications surrounding their stay in the hospital and NICU, anyways going on to my dilemma.

I have to go back to work very shortly and even though my husband works days and I will be working mid-nights our son will still have to go to daycare so mommy can sleep for a few hours. My husband will be working 7:00 am till 3:30 pm and I work 11:30 pm till 7:30 am, DJ will have to go to daycare, and I am feeling very torn about this whole thing. I will need sleep and there is an overlap that my husband and I will not be there, but we are trusting out technically 8 month old by then with a stranger in a day home. I went and talked to her and saw her home and it all seemed great and wonderful but I had this odd feeling in the pit of my stomach about the whole thing. I am not sure if it was just anxiety about having my son go to a day home, or if I just felt something off about the whole thing. There were kids there and they seemed great and happy, but again, she said he will be the youngest she has there and the next youngest is 2 and I don’t want him to be left behind or have another kid get jealous and hurt him.

Don’t get me wrong I am a pretty laid back mom considering the circumstances , but the thought of a kid over a year older than my kid hurting him bothers me. There is also the fact that my child has a deficient immune system from being born so early so colds or a flu could land us back in the hospital for an undetermined amount of time, or even back on oxygen in a worst case scenario.

I know that seems like a huge jump, but I have left him with sitters before that were not family and he has spent weekends away from us since he has been home and even a few times while he was on oxygen. I am not a helicopter parent, and I can be away from my child but there is something about that, that bothered me. I am wondering about a few other options, as well as the cost of daycare these days are ridiculous. My son would only be there from 6 am till noon Tuesday till Friday and that will cost  $800.00 a month, and that’s a cheap place. One Lady was going to charge me $2000.00 a month just because he is a Preemie baby.

I wish there were more options for a working mom with a Preemie baby. There doesn’t seem to be many these days.

Leave a Reply

