Children · Family · NICU · Parenting · Preemie · Support

MOTHERS DAY IN THE NICU

In my family when I was little I remember waking up and helping my mom make breakfast and helping to take care of my baby brother because my dad worked out of town and peek season always was the spring, summer and fall. Or in Canada we call it second winter, summer and winter test, so it was just the three of us, and that just proved how strong my mom is as a person. And I had always thought my mothers days would be similar, making breakfast with my kids or my husband surprising me with breakfast in bed with the kids, just something like the movies and what I did as a child.

I never had to be in the NICU for my first mothers day, but if I had, I would have treated as it was, My very first mothers day with my baby. I would have gone to get my nails and my toes done and then cuddled with my little baby. I wouldn’t expect my friends and family to walk on egg shells around me just because of our circumstances, I am still a mom now and want to enjoy my first mothers day with my family. So here are a few things you can do to help the mom in your life who is spending it in the NICU with their little miracle.

  1. GIVE HER FLOWERS. All moms get flowers on mothers day, and why should this be any different just because she is spending it in an unconventional way doesn’t me she should be treated in an unconventional way. Most NICUs will not allow flowers in the hospital itself so a surprise delivery in person at home would be the best option.
  2. OFFER TO HELP. I know most days you want to help but this would be the best day to help this mom out, offer to vacuum or clean her kitchen so she has one less thing to do at home and she can spent even more time at the hospital and enjoy her time with her little one on her first of many Mothers Day as a family.
  3. COOK/BUY HER DINNER. When I was in the NICU the last thing on my mind was cooking, I did it but one can survive on pizza and take out for so long. So offer to cook her dinner or take her out somewhere pretty for dinner so she has a reason to get all dressed up and enjoy a relaxing evening to focus on herself for a few hours.
  4. MAKE A PRETTY GIFT.  Depending on the situation in the NICU many mothers cannot even hold their babies, which makes for a very hard day to day life in the NICU let alone a mothers day. So a fun way to brighten their days is make something for their little home away from home feel like just that, a home. It could be a nice blanket to put on top of the isolette, it could be a small collage of pictures from her pregnancy and first few pictures of the little one(s). The options are endless.

I know there are so many things you can do for moms in the NICU but these are the ones I have seen and thought of. I did read an article on Huffington Post and got some ideas from there.

Thanks for reading, I will see you all next week.

 

Ashton Taylor

Leave a Reply

